Follow Us! Like Our Page!

2023 Speaker’s Book Award Shortlist announced

Press Release

Toronto, July 10, 2023 – In thanking all authors and publishers for their submissions, the Honourable Ted Arnott, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Ontario, is pleased to announce the 2023 Speaker’s Book Award Shortlist:

  • Harvesting Freedom: The Life of a Migrant Worker in Canada – Gabriel Allahdua with Edward Dunsworth (Between the Lines, 2023)
  • Serpent River Resurgence: Confronting Uranium Mining at Elliot Lake – Lianne C. Leddy (University of Toronto Press, 2022)
  • Cleaning Up: Portuguese Women’s Fight for Labour Rights in Toronto – Susana P. Miranda with Franca Iacovetta (Between the Lines, 2022)
  • A Black American Missionary in Canada: The Life and Letters of Lewis Champion Chambers – Hilary Bates Neary, Editor (McGill-Queen’s University Press, 2022)
  • Sideways: The City Google Couldn’t Buy – Josh O’Kane (Random House Canada, 2022)
  • Unreconciled: Family, Truth, and Indigenous Resistance – Jesse Wente (Penguin Random House, 2021)

Started in 2012 by Speaker Dave Levac, the Speaker’s Book Award celebrates non-fiction works by Ontario authors covering historical and cultural aspects of the province and its residents. Special consideration is given to books focusing on Ontario’s parliamentary heritage and on provincial political discourse.

The winning entry will be announced in the fall. More information about the Speaker’s Book Award, as well as a list of this year’s shortlist books, can be found on the Speaker’s Book Award web site.


For further information, please contact:

Parliamentary Protocol and Public Relations
Legislative Assembly of Ontario


NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More