Follow Us! Like Our Page!

Eight Departing Board Members Thanked for Contributions to NOSM Governance

September 24, 2013

The Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) held its Annual Members and Board of Directors meetings on Wednesday, September 18, 2013. These meetings were video-linked between the School’s West Campus at Lakehead University in Thunder Bay and its East Campus at Laurentian University in Sudbury, with other Directors participating via teleconference.

The following members were thanked for their significant contribution to the Northern Ontario School of Medicine, as their terms completed September 18, 2013:

  • Dr. Roy Christopher Allison
  • Ms. Tracy Buckler
  • Mr. Derek Debassige
  • Ms. Jacqueline Dojack
  • Ms. Debbie Lipscombe
  • Ms. Marianne Matichuk
  • Ms. Rosie Mosquito
  • Dr. Claire Perreault
  • Dr. Lianne Villano

At the recommendation of the Board’s Governance Review Working Group, Directors of the Board voted to accept changes to NOSM By-Law No. 6 to reflect the responsibilities and functions of NOSM’s reconstituted Board. Comprised of 19 Directors, the new structure will give priority to the recruitment of different skills, expertise and experience of Board members, while still reflecting the geographic and demographic diversity of Northeastern and Northwestern Ontario, including Aboriginal, Francophone and rural and remote communities.

Changes to By-Law 6 include the adjustment of standing committees of the Board to include a Board Executive Committee; Finance, Audit, and Risk Management Committee; Governance Committee; and, a Nominations and Community Relations Sub-Committee to the Governance Committee.

In an overview of recent NOSM activities, Dr. Roger Strasser, Dean, conveyed to the Board that NOSM was thrilled to receive the prestigious ASPIRE award, which recognizes international excellence in medical education. Receipt of the ASPIRE award was based on NOSM’s success in fulfilling its social accountability mandate – the mission to direct its education, research, and service activities to address the priority health concerns of the communities of Northern Ontario.

The audited financial statements for the year ending April 30, 2013, and the Board approved that BDO Canada LLP be appointed as auditors for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2014.

The next Board of Directors meeting will be held in Thunder Bay on November 28 and 29, 2013.

For a complete list of Board members, please visit our website at


Dr. Brian Stevenson, Acting Chair of the Board of Directors
Northern Ontario School of Medicine
Tel. 807-343-8200

Ms. Kim Daynard, Director of Communications
Northern Ontario School of Medicine
Tel. 807-766-7379 Cell 807-631-5718

– 30 –

The Northern Ontario School of Medicine is committed to the education of high quality physicians and health professionals, and to international recognition as a leader in distributed, learning-centred, community-engaged education and research.

Kimberley Larkin
Communications Officer
Tel.: 705-662-7243
Cell: 705-669-7943 (cell)

Lisa Kokanie
Communications Officer
Tel.: 807-766-7314
Cell: 807-624-7862


NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More