Follow Us! Like Our Page!

I·SPARC honours the 2022 recipients for the regional Premier’s Awards

Press Release

July 10, 2023 – The Indigenous Sport, Physical Activity and Recreation Council (I·SPARC) is pleased to announce the outstanding athletes named as the regional recipients of the 2022 Premier’s Awards for Indigenous Youth Excellence in Sport.

Fraser Region

Click here to watch the Fraser recipient’s highlight video

  • Kynan Haintz, Wrestling, Maple Ridge, Hwlitsum First Nation
  • Alex Paterson, Lacrosse, Pitt Medows, Métis
  • Olivia Pemberton, Lacrosse, Langley, Métis Nation BC
  • Lauren Curtis, Track & Field (Hammer Throw), Maple Ridge, Wampanoag
  • Santana DeFazio, Soccer, Abbotsford, Sts’ailes
  • Payton McIntosh, Lacrosse and Hockey, Langley, Lax Kw’alaams First Nation

Interior Region

Click here to watch the Interior recipient’s highlight video

  • Indigo Berry, Karate, Kelowna, Nłeʔkepmxc
  • Brooke Hall-Eckes, Softball, Penticton, Tsartlip and Métis
  • Kalezafar Lawrence, Lacrosse, Penticton, Penelakut Tribe
  • Kanani Coon, Basketball, Kelowna, Enoch Cree Nation
  • Kaiden Thorpe, Soccer, Kimberley, Rocky Mountain Métis Society
  • Kayla Burns, Volleyball, Oliver, Métis

Vancouver Coastal Region

Click here to watch the Vancouver Coastal recipient’s highlight video

  • Kolton Cousins, Hockey, Sechelt, Métis
  • Savion Atchison, Rugby/Lacrosse, North Vancouver, Squamish Nation
  • Tayan Treadwell, Softball, West Vancouver, Squamish Nation
  • Justin George, Soccer, North Vancouver, Tsleil-Waututh Nation
  • Nicholas Barton, Basketball, Vancouver, Nisga’a Nation
  • Richard Thomas, Soccer, Vancouver, Musqueam Nation

Vancouver Island Region

Click here to watch the Vancouver Island recipient’s highlight video

  • Charlotte Swanton, Hockey, Victoria, Métis
  • Braden Blace, Hockey, Duncan, Squamish Nation
  • Alexandra Nelson, Hockey/Lacrosse/Basketball/Golf, Nanaimo, Snuneymuxw
  • Iain Anderton-Teasdale, Rugby, Duncan, Nak’azdli Whut’en
  • Neve Watts, Basketball/Track and Field, Port Alberni, Tseshaht
  • Harmony Lecoy, Soccer, Victoria, Esquimalt Nation

North (east and west combined) Region

Click here to watch the North recipient’s highlight video

  • Kendra Schlamp, Hockey/Basketball/Soccer/Snowboarding/Track and Field, Moberly Lake, Salteau First Nations
  • Rowan Teegee-Zatorksi, Volleyball, Prince George, Lheidli T’enneh
  • Claire Turner, Soccer, Fort St. John, Dane-zaa First Nations
  • Kurtis Lee, Hockey, Fort St. John, Dease River First Nation
  • Keesha Pontious, Volleyball, Quesnel, Selkirk First Nation
  • Philippe Josiah Lacerte, Hockey, Burns Lake, Lake Babine Nation
  • Fredrick Bear, Hockey/Basketball/Softball, Hazelton, Gitanyow
  • Teysean Angeline Henry, Figure Skating, Terrace, Gitxsan/Tsimshian Nation
  • Josh Leighton, Hockey/Golf/Track and Field/Cross-Country, Prince Rupert, Metlakatla

I·SPARC, in collaboration with the Province of British Columbia, launched the regional nomination process in late 2022, receiving nominations from each of I·SPARC’s six regions (Fraser, Interior, Northeast, Northwest, Vancouver Coastal, and Vancouver Island). Applications were open to Indigenous youth athletes 25 years and younger who are competing in performance sport and demonstrating a commitment to their education, culture, and promoting healthy and active lifestyles.

“Sport has the power to change lives, to create strong community connections and to inspire generations to care for each other,” said Hon. Lana Popham, Minister of Tourism, Arts, Culture and Sport. “This is especially important in the context of reconciliation, and we are pleased to recognize these young athletes as leaders. They inspire us all to engage and persevere in sport and beyond. Congratulations to the finalists!”

“Congratulations on your achievements. We are so proud to celebrate the regional recipients and share their incredible stories of athletic achievements and their dedication to culture, education, leadership, and community. We look forward to seeing you continue to grow as great athletes and people,” said Corinne McKay, I•SPARC President and Chairperson.

As a way of honouring the 2022 regional recipients, I·SPARC has produced a series of commemorative videos highlighting each of the region’s athletes and celebrating their outstanding achievements. These videos can be found on I·SPARC’s YouTube channel (, website, and social media channels.

These regional recipients automatically serve as nominees for the Provincial Awards, which will be announced later this year.


NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More