Follow Us! Like Our Page!

Minister Quassa resigns from Executive Council

Press Release

18 September 2023

Nunavut Premier P.J. Akeeagok today released the following statement:

“The member for Aggu, Joanna Quassa, resigned from Executive Council Saturday evening for family reasons. I wish to extend my appreciation for her service as a Minister. In the interim, portfolio changes are as follows:

Minister Margaret Nakashuk will act as:

  • Minister responsible for Nunavut Arctic College.

Minister John Main will act as:

  • Minister of Environment and Minister responsible for Energy.

Until Deputy Premier Pamela Hakongak Gross returns from leave October 16, Minister Lorne Kusugak will act as:

  • Minister of Culture and Heritage,
  • Minister of Languages, and
  • Minister responsible for Seniors.

The Katujjiluta mandate is founded on a partnership between all members of our consensus government. We will continue to work together to serve our territory.”


Media Contact:

Michele LeTourneau
Press Secretary


NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More