Follow Us! Like Our Page!

Canada’s Premiers Announce Literacy Award Winners for 2013

September 6, 2013 – In recognition of International Literacy Day, Canada’s Premiers announced today the recipients of the ninth annual Council of the Federation Literacy Award. The award is presented in every province and territory, and recognizes outstanding achievement, innovative practice and excellence in literacy. It is awarded annually to educators, volunteers, learners, community organizations, non- governmental organizations and businesses.

Recipients of the 2013 Council of the Federation Literacy Award are:

Further Education Society – Alberta
Powell River Public Library – British Columbia
Amanda Morhart – Manitoba
Mary Hill – New Brunswick
Brigitte Martin – New Brunswick
Bertha Goulet – Northwest Territories
Celeste Axworthy – Nova Scotia
Catherine Hoyt – Nunavut
Shelley Harris – Ontario
Aleisha DeRoche – Prince Edward Island
Anne-Marie Larochelle – Québec
Phyllis Jones – Saskatchewan
Beth Mulloy – Yukon

“On behalf of my fellow Premiers, I would like to congratulate the recipients of the 2013 Council of the Federation Literacy Award,” said Kathleen Wynne, Premier of Ontario and Chair of the Council of the Federation. “Reading and writing are the foundation for lifelong learning and success and I am so proud that we are recognizing individuals and organizations who do so much to improve the lives of Canadians.”

The award was created in 2004 to celebrate the valuable contributions made by Canadians across the entire spectrum of the field of literacy, including family, Aboriginal, health, workplace and community literacy. Premiers recognize that literacy is linked to better health outcomes, as well as greater social and civic engagement, and is a key element in enabling labour force participation and economic growth.

Each recipient receives a certificate, signed by the Premier of their province or territory, as well as a Council of the Federation Literacy Award medallion.

The Council of the Federation comprises all 13 provincial and territorial Premiers. It enables Premiers to work collaboratively, form closer ties, foster constructive relationships among governments, and show leadership on important issues that matter to Canadians.

– 30 –

For more information:

Lindsay de Leeuw
Project Manager
Council of the Federation Secretariat


NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More