Follow Us! Like Our Page!

Candidates announced for Mushkegowuk Council Grand Chief – Timmins Press

July 19, 2015

The Mushkegowuk Council released its official list of candidates for the offices of Grand Chief and Deputy Grand Chief on Saturday.

Incumbent Grand Chief Lawrence Martin will be vying to maintain his current position and will be running against Gilbert Jr. Cheechoo, Terry Metatawabin, Andrew Reuben and Jonathon Solomon in the upcoming General Election this August.

Brent Edwards, Rebecca Friday, Theresa Hall and Mike (Meenish) Okimaw are the candidates for Deputy Grand Chief.

Both offices will be elected for a four-year term.

After the death of Grand Chief Stan Louttit in June of 2014, Martin was elected to the position in a by-election that November. Now that Louttit’s original four-year term has expired (he was elected to serve in his third-consecutive term in 2011), another election must be held.

Martin beat out seven other candidates in the November by-election and topped his closest competitor, Peter W. Wesley, by 32 votes. He was the head of the regional council, which represents eight First Nation communities in Northeastern Ontario, from 1998 to 2001 and also served as the mayor of the towns of Cochrane and Sioux Lookout. A member of the Moose Cree First Nation, Martin made history as the first Aboriginal person to serve as mayor of a non-native municipality in Ontario. He’s also one of the only people in Canada who has been the mayor in two different municipalities.

Read more:


NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More