Follow Us! Like Our Page!

NT Government: Outstanding Volunteer Awards 2020 -Winners Announced!

Press Release

The GNWT is proud to announce the 2020 NWT Outstanding Volunteer Award winners.
This year, due to the health protocols around public gatherings, a video has been produced recognizing the recipients of the award.

Recipients of the NWT Outstanding Volunteer awards for 2020 are:

  • Outstanding Elder Award                           – Marino Casebeer
  • Outstanding Youth Award                          – Anna Seagrave
  • Outstanding Individual Award                 – Caihla MacCuish
  • Outstanding Group Award                          – Inclusion NWT, Board of Directors

The video celebrating the winners can be viewed at:

The GNWT is also announcing a call for nominations for the 2021 Outstanding Volunteer Awards.
Residents are encouraged to nominate an elder, youth, individual, or group volunteer in their communities. This program acknowledges individuals who donate their time to improve the quality of life for NWT residents.
Nominations are being accepted for all four categories:

•            Elder Outstanding Volunteer Award

•            Youth Outstanding Volunteer Award

•            Individual Outstanding Volunteer Award

•            Group Outstanding Volunteer Award

The deadline for nominations is Thursday June 17, 2021.
Further information and nomination forms are available at all MACA and community government offices and at


“I send my congratulations to everyone receiving the awards this year, and to those who were nominated. Volunteerism plays an important role in contributing to healthy, safe and vibrant communities in the NWT. I encourage anyone who knows a deserving volunteer to put forward a nomination for this year’s awards”

– Paulie Chinna, Minister of Municipal and Community Affairs

Quick facts

  • All recipients received $1,000 to donate to an organization of their choice.
  • Donations will be going to Folk on the Rocks, FOXY, Yellowknife Women’s Society, Inclusion NWT’s Respite Services program.
  • The 2021 OVAs will mark the 30th year of this award, which recognizes and celebrates the remarkable contributions volunteers make in communities across the NWT.

Media Requests, please contact:

Name: Jay Boast

Title: Communications Planning Specialist

Department: Municipal And Community Affairs, Government of the Northwest Territories

Email: [email protected]

Phone Number: (867) 767-9162 ext. 21044


NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More