Follow Us! Like Our Page!

Premier announces cabinet changes to support economic plan

Executive Council Office
Office of the Premier

19 September 2013

FREDERICTON (GNB) – Premier David Alward today announced changes to several key cabinet positions that will support New Brunswick’s economic and resource development priorities. The changes are effective Monday, Sept. 23.

“A strong natural-resource economy driven by New Brunswick innovation is the foundation of our plan to create jobs and allow communities to grow stronger today and for generations,” said Alward. “These changes will strengthen our government’s ability to work with New Brunswickers to rebuild our province one job at a time.”

To move forward on plans for developing New Brunswick’s resource industries, deputy premier and minister of Economic Development Paul Robichaud will become minister of Natural Resources. He will lead a renewed focus on job creation in natural resource industries that are an important part of the economic fabric of New Brunswick regions.

Robichaud will continue in his roles as deputy premier, government house leader, and minister responsible for the Regional Development Corporation and La Francophonie.

Bruce Northrup will become minister of Public Safety and Solicitor General.

Bruce Fitch will take on a new key role as minister of Economic Development and minister responsible for Invest New Brunswick.

Danny Soucy will become minister of Environment and Local Government.

The government’s plan for sustained economic growth in New Brunswick communities, including knowledge and natural resource industries, requires a skilled and inclusive workforce as well as a strong focus on education and early childhood development.

Jody Carr will become minister of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour, responsible for implementingNew Brunswick’s Labour Force and Skills Development Strategy 2013-2016, as well as for the community college networks and the four publicly-funded universities.

Marie-Claude Blais will become minister for Education and Early Childhood Development, and will retain her current role as the minister responsible for Women’s Equality.

Hugh (Ted) Flemming will become Attorney General in addition to to his continuing responsibility as minister of Health.

Troy Lifford will become minister of Justice.

Robert Trevors will become minister of Human Resources.

Alward said the changes will help create the new opportunities that are needed to bring New Brunswick workers home.

“Strengthening New Brunswick’s focus on job creation in important sectors like resource development and innovation are essential pieces of our plan to rebuild the economy and generate employment in communities,” he said.

Full list of executive council (cabinet) as of Sept. 23:

David Alward
Premier, president of the Executive Council, minister of Intergovernmental Affairs, minister responsible for Aboriginal Affairs, minister responsible for the Premier’s Council on the Status of Disabled Persons, minister responsible for Citizens’ Engagement, minister responsible for the Office of Government Review, Chair of the Policy and Priorities Committee of Cabinet.

Paul Robichaud
Deputy premier, government house leader, minister of Natural Resources (responsible for the Regional Development Corporation, Northern New Brunswick and Miramichi Initiatives, and Rural Affairs), minister responsible for La Francophonie.

Hugh (Ted) Flemming
Minister of Health and Attorney General.

Troy Lifford
Minister of Justice.

Bruce Northrup
Minister of Public Safety and Solicitor General.

Blaine Higgs
Minister of Finance, minister responsible for the New Brunswick Liquor Corporation, minister responsible for the New Brunswick Investment Management Corporation, minister responsible for the New Brunswick Lotteries and Gaming Corporation, chair of the Board of Management.

Marie-Claude Blais
Minister of Education and Early Childhood Development, minister responsible for Women’s Equality.

Michael Olscamp
Minister of Agriculture, Aquaculture and Fisheries.

Jody Carr
Minister of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour.

Craig Leonard
Minister of Energy and Mines.

Bruce Fitch
Minister of Economic Development, minister responsible for Invest New Brunswick.

Sue Stultz
Minister of Government Services (responsible for Service New Brunswick and the New Brunswick Internal Services Agency).

Dorothy Shephard
Minister of Healthy and Inclusive Communities.

Danny Soucy
Minister of Environment and Local Government. minister responsible for Efficiency New Brunswick.

Robert Trevors
Minister of Human Resources.

Madeleine (Mado) Dubé
Minister of Social Development.

Trevor Holder
Minister of Tourism, Heritage and Culture.

Claude Williams
Minister of Transportation and Infrastructure


Media Contact(s)

Jesse Robichaud, communications, Office of the Premier, 506-453-2144.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More