Follow Us! Like Our Page!

Saskatchewan Tourism Awards Of Excellence Recipients Announced

Press Release

Saskatchewan’s tourism sector is pleased to honour outstanding businesses and individuals with the announcement of the 2019 Saskatchewan Tourism Awards of Excellence recipients.  Tourism Saskatchewan Board Chair Norm Beug and CEO Mary Taylor-Ash made the virtual announcement during a Facebook Live event on November 10.

The 31st annual Saskatchewan Tourism Awards of Excellence Gala was originally scheduled to take place on April 2 in Regina.  Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Tourism Saskatchewan cancelled the event and postponed the announcement of the 12 award recipients and three Tourism Builders.

Nearly 90 nominations were received in the 13 award categories that acknowledge quality in marketing, service, business practices, Indigenous tourism, human resource development and other areas.

The Tourism Builder Award recognizes individuals who have made tourism an important part of their life’s work and have helped position Saskatchewan as a welcoming destination.

“During challenging times, it is especially important to recognize inspiring leadership and accomplishments,” Minister Responsible for Tourism Saskatchewan Jeremy Harrison said.  “The Government of Saskatchewan is pleased to play a role in the virtual celebration of the Saskatchewan Tourism Awards of Excellence.  Congratulations to the finalists, award winners and the three Tourism Builders – Bradley Muir, Gordon Olson and Dr. Ernie Walker.  They are pivotal to a proud, resilient tourism sector.”

“It was heartbreaking to cancel the Saskatchewan Tourism Awards of Excellence Gala in April and witness the impact of COVID-19 on our industry,” Taylor-Ash said.  “Through Facebook Live, we are able to celebrate the award finalists, recipients and Tourism Builders in a way that is safe and appropriate for this uncertain time.  These businesses and individuals certainly deserve far more fanfare for their achievements.  They model the vision, work ethic and collaborative spirit that drives our industry and makes Saskatchewan travel experiences remarkable in so many ways.  Tourism Saskatchewan extends heartfelt congratulations and gratitude for these exceptional contributions to our industry.”

The winners of the Saskatchewan Tourism Awards of Excellence for 2019 are:

Business of the Year Award
(Over 20 Full-Time Employees)
Wanuskewin, Saskatoon

Business of the Year Award
(Under 20 Full-Time Employees)
The Happy Nun Café, Forget

Community Event of the Year Award
The Boomtown Cup, Shaunavon

Fred Heal Tourism Ambassador Award
Mane Productions, Saskatoon

Gil Carduner Marketing Award
Wanuskewin, Saskatoon

Indigenous Tourism Experience Award
Aski Holistic Adventures, Cumberland House

Marquee Event of the Year Award
2019 Tim Hortons NHL Heritage Classic, Regina

Rookie of the Year Award
Nutrien Wonderhub, Saskatoon

Service Excellence Award
Northern Lights Vintage Spa, Maple Creek

Tourism Employee of the Year Award
Arnold McKenzie, Legislative Assembly Service of Saskatchewan, Regina

Tourism Employer of the Year Award
CAA Saskatchewan

Travel Media Award
Jenn Sharp, Saskatoon

Tourism Builder Award
Brad Muir, Anglin Lake
Gordon Olson, Big River
Dr. Ernie Walker, Saskatoon


For more information, contact:

Regan Mathiason
Tourism Saskatchewan
Phone: 306-370-3582
Cell: 306-370-3582

Related Items

Saskatchewan Tourism Awards of Excellence 2019 Recipients Tourism Awards

Tourism Awards

Saskatchewan Tourism Awards of Excellence 2019 Recipients Tourism Awards


NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More